Joe Burrow, Ed Orgeron Receive Top Honors by SEC Coaches

LSU Quarterback Joe Burrow and Head Coach Ed Orgeron
LSU QB Joe Burrow and head coach Ed Orgeron receive SEC Awards. Photo courtesy of LSU Sports

The SEC released their individual awards on Wednesday and LSU had Joe Burrow and Ed Orgeron named Offensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.

The pair became the first from LSU to score the honors in the same season since 1958 when halfback Billy Cannon was named player of the year and Paul Dietzel was coach of the year after leading LSU to its first football national championship.

Burrow set LSU records for passing yards (4,715), passing touchdowns (48), passing yards per game (362.7), completions (342), total offense (5,004) and total offense per game (384.9) this season. 

The Heisman Trophy finalist also broke the SEC records for passing yards and passing touchdowns in a season.

Orgeron has led LSU to a 13-0 record and the 2019 SEC Championship. He helped guide the Tigers to a school-record five wins against top-10 teams this season. 

No. 1 LSU will face Oklahoma in the College Football Playoff semifinals on Dec. 28.

Below is the 2019 SEC Football Awards as voted on by the coaches. Coaches that voted on the individual awards cannot vote for their own players.

2019 SEC Football Awards

Offensive Player of the Year

Joe Burrow, LSU

Defensive Player of the Year

Derrick Brown, Auburn

Special Teams Player of the Year

Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

Freshman of the Year

Bo Nix, Auburn

Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

Jacobs Blocking Trophy

Andrew Thomas, Georgia

Coach of the Year

Ed Orgeron, LSU