LSU’s Burrow, Delpit, Chase, and Orgeron Sweep National Awards

Joe Burrow Named Maxwell Award Winner
Joe Burrow posing with the Maxwell Award. Photo courtesy of LSU Sports

Thursday night’s Home Depot College Football Awards looked like an infomercial for LSU football with Joe Burrow, Grant Delpit, Ja’Marr Chase, and Ed Orgeron all taking home hardware in Atlanta, Georgia.

Joe Burrow racked up the Walter Camp Award, Davey O’Brien Trophy, and the Maxwell Award. Safety Grant Delpit won the Thorpe Award while Ja’Marr Chase won the Biletnikoff Award. As announced earlier this week, head coach Ed Orgeron was named the Home Depot Coach of the Year. Orgeron is now the second head coach in LSU history to receive the honor with Les Miles taking home the award in 2011.

Thursday night also saw history be made with Burrow being the first Tiger in program history to win the Maxwell, Walter Camp, and Davey O’Brien awards. Delpit is the third-ever player in LSU history to win the Thorpe Award, joining Patrick Peterson (2010) and Morris Claiborne (2011). Chase is the first to win the Biletnikoff Award since Josh Reed did it back in 2001.